Workers compensation policy information for the State of Arizona
for its Work Comp
Rules and Information
- District of Columbia
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- West Virginia
Related Pages: More About Arizona Rules
Updated: Rating Payroll 02-07-2021
Authority/State Rating Bureau: NCCI
National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI)
901 Peninsula Corporate Circle
Boca Raton, FL 33487-1362
Private Insurance: Allowed
State Fund: Arizona maintains a state administered fund who competes with private insurers
Assigned Risk: NCCI maintains the Arizona Workers Compensation Assigned Risk Plan (AWCARP).
Assigned Risk Contact Information: NCCI Holdings Inc. ; Arizona Assigned Risk Plan, Pool or Residual Market is administered by NCCI Holdings, Inc.
Numerical Exceptions: None, if an employer has 1 employee they are required to carry workers compensation.
Individual Waivers Allowed: Yes
Small Deductible Program Details:
Allowed: Yes – Optional that insurance carriers make available
Deductible Range: Not Specified
Type: Medical and Indemnity
Effect on Experience Rating: Gross
Available In: Voluntary Markets
For More Information About How Deductible Programs Work
Sole Proprietor: Excluded from coverage/can elect to be included. If included the rating payroll used is a minimum monthly of $600 and a maximum monthly of $3,920.75 as of 1-1-2011, $600/$4,062.29 as of 1-1-2012, $600/$4,185.78 as of 1-1-2013, $600/$4,256.94 as of 1-1-2014, $600/$4,337.82 as of 1-1-2015, $600/$4,428.91 as of 1-1-2016. $600/$4,521.92 as of 1-1-2017. $600/$4,625.92 as of 1-1-2018. $660/$4741.57 as of 1-1-2019. $600/$4741.57 as of 1-1-2020. $600/$4888.56 as of 1-1-2021. Sole-proprietors and Partners covered only if endorsed on policy.
Partners: Excluded from coverage/can elect to be included. If included the rating payroll used is a minimum monthly of $600 and a maximum monthly of $3,920.75 as of 1-1-2011, $600/$4,062.29 as of 1-1-2012, $600/$4,185.78 as of 1-1-2013, $600/$4256.94 as of 1-1-2014, $600/$4,337.82 as of 1-1-2015, $600/$4,428.91 as of 1-1-2016. $600/$4,521.92 as of 1-1-2017. $600/$4,625.92 as of 1-1-2018. $660/$4741.57 as of 1-1-2019. $600/$4741.57 as of 1-1-2020. $600/$4888.56 as of 1-1-2021. Sole-proprietors and Partners covered only if endorsed on policy.
Corporate Officers: Included in coverage/can elect to be excluded. If included the rating payroll used is a minimum weekly of $900 and a maximum weekly of $3,600 as of 1-1-2011, $900/$3,700 as of 1-1-2012, $950/$3,900 as of 1-1-2013, $1,000/$3,900 as of 1-1-2014, $1,000/$4,000 as of 1-1-2015, $1,000/$4,100 as of 1-1-2016. $1,050/$4,200 as of 1-1-2017. $1,050/$4,300 as of 1-1-2018. $1,100/$4,400 as of 1-1-2019. $1,100/$4,400 as of 1-1-2020. $1,150/$4,400 as of 1-1-2021.
LLC Members: See special notes below.
Election of Rejection of Coverage Forms: Contact the Arizona Industrial Commission about Exclusion or Inclusion forms and procedures.
Notes About Forms: Be sure to check with your insurance company for additional forms they may use.
Contractors: Those who perform different work from a client, who are not supervised by the client are considered independent contractors and not employees.
Special Notes: LLC Members – An LLC with one or more employees must provide coverage. It is not clear if members of the LLC are counted as employees. Please note that Arizona statute is confusing on this subject. If you have any questions about the need to secure coverage be sure to contact the Industrial Commission of Arizona or an attorney familiar with Arizona workers comp statutes regarding this topic.
Experience Rating Eligibility: Employers in Arizona become eligible for an experience modification rate or EMR when they meet one of these parameters:
- $6,000 in policy premium is generated during the last year or last two years.
- $3,000 is the average policy premium generated for more than two years.
Arizona Workers Compensation Subrogation: You can find information about subrogation of workers compensation for the State of Arizona in the Arizona Statute 23-1023. Follow the link we’ve provided below for direct access to this statute.
Arizona Workers In Other States; Other States Workers In Arizona; Extraterritorial; Reciprocity; Non-Compliance: When an Arizona worker is working temporarily in another state, workers compensation coverage for that worker is governed by the extraterritorial provisions found in Arizona statutes. When allowed, extraterritorial provisions allow benefits for an injured worker to apply as if the worker was in their primary state. Not all states provide Extraterritorial Provisions. Reciprocity governs coverage for a worker from another state who is working temporarily in Arizona. Compliance of workers compensation laws varies from state to state and it is important for an employer with workers performing duties in other states to be aware of the specific state rules that govern their coverage. We’ve provided the below general information about extraterritorial and reciprocity as a basic guide. Please contact your state authority with your specific questions concerning this topic!
- Provisions: Yes
- Duration: 6 Months
- Allowed: No
- Specific Statute or Reference: 23.904
- For More Information Contact: Arizona Industrial Commission 602-542-5286
Regulated By: Arizona State Insurance Department
Department of Insurance – Consumer Complaint Department
2910 N. 44th Street, Ste. 210
Phoenix, AZ 85018
Workers compensation statute can be found here:
Information on this page is provided only as a reference. While we strive to mantain accurate information on this site please realize workers compensation laws are complicated and subject to change at any time. No warranty as to the accuracy or completeness of this information is provided or to be implied. You must verify this data before use with the individual governing authority for this state. If you need help with a workers compensation problem or have a specific situation or question please contact our office. Otherwise please consult your states governing authority or an attorney in your state of residency for assistance.
WORKERS COMPENSATION CONSULTANT
Voice: (573) 489-8323
Fax: (573) 447-4998